Tiny turf houses…

Look! Sunshine! Out there! How lovely! Hope it’s nice where you are.

I have some noofings to share with you… I’ve been building houses…

Okay, not real proper big ones – tiny Icelandic turf houses, but instead of using turf I’ve used felt (no surprise there!).

“But what’s a turf house, stupid?” I hear you cry…

Turf houses go right back in history to the time when Iceland was first settled in the late 800s. Whilst there was a fairly plentiful supply of birch trees, they weren’t particularly suited to heavy construction, so frames were built and something that was plentiful – turf – was fitted around the frame in blocks. Turf houses continued to be constructed, and their design continued to evolve, right up to the 18th century. The most commonly seen Icelandic turf houses date from this later era – they’re called burstabær…


The turf provided very good insulation, and also stopped drafts getting in – in fact, it’s making a little bit of a come back as building material these days.

And so without further adoooo… I give you my very own turf houses…


And here’s one on it’s own…


They’re made by needle-felting together pieces of thick wool felt sheet, then tiny details (the door and window frames and door handle) are added by needle-felting in merino wool, and the window panes are made with a couple of tiny cotton stitches to the back of the final layer of felt. I’m rather pleased with how they’ve turned out.

In fact, I got so into this building lark that I made a church too…


It’s loosely based on this little blue church in the village of Seyðisfjörður in east Iceland, where my father lived.


So there you have it! Hope you like my little constructions!

Until the next time… x

4 thoughts on “Tiny turf houses…

  1. What fabulous article – great going Stupid and I love the houses and the church. Wish to lots and lots of house and church sales

Leave a Reply

