A first attempt at something new…

I’ve done a thing!

Bookbinding has fascinated me ever since I went to a craft fair in Chelsea* in the mid-nineties and watched a chap from Rook’s Books patiently sewing pages together to go in the most beautiful leatherbound journals I’ve ever seen.

“One day,” I thought, “I’ll have a go at that.” *

Today, after a chance bit of free time in Manchester, I discovered Fred Aldous (the most amazing arty-crafty shop EVER!) and came out eagerly clutching an awl (note spelling – not the hooty kind), some waxed thread and a chunky needle. Amongst other things.

And I’ve made a little book! Nothing flash, just an A7 (cat-sized!), stitched notebook, but I’m so chuffed with it! Obviously I need more practice, but hopefully sometime I’d like to be able to offer a few perfected versions in my shop. You’d love to own a little stupidcats notebook, wouldn’t you?!

So without further ado… here it is!

   

Okay, so I smudged the lettering a bit in my excitement, but we don’t talk about that! 😁

What I’d really like to have a go at is Coptic binding, but I think I have a way to go before I should attempt that…!

Right, now I need to clear all this mess up and go to bed!

Nighty night!

*Well, apart from the teeny tiny books and holiday photo albums made for dolls and teddies when I was wee!

3 thoughts on “A first attempt at something new…

Leave a Reply

